flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

a new age….


 

Welcome back for another It’s Friday – Go #FridayFictioneers!, an exercise in flash fiction brought to us by Madison Woods.  Photo prompt this week by Stacy Plowright.  Feel free to let me know what you think of my take on it this week!

The sea is rough this morning Captain but there is barely enough wind to fill the sails?

The Captain said nothing, seemingly lost in thought.  He knew the reason for the choppy water had nothing to do with the weather.  It was a clear sunny day, light wind and no storms within hundreds of miles.  He was recalling the legend of Atlantis and the civilization shrouded in mystery.  Every time his ship travelled this route, the waters were increasingly rough for no logical reason.  Finally the novice seaman’s statement reached his consciousness.

It is the dawning of the age of Aquarius…..

 

18 Comments

  1. Fascinating story. I love the mystery surrounding Atlantis.

    http://ebooksscifi.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/fallout-copyright-2012-ilyan-kei-lavanway/

    • Thanks for stopping in! I really, really liked your take on this prompt. Once Atlantis popped in my head I could go nowhere else…

  2. I like the Atlantis connection – great idea.

    • Thanks for reading! I really liked yours as well!

  3. Intriguing story that left me singing Aquarius. A suggestion. I would pull back on some of the passive voice…maybe something like “He recalled…” Instead of “He was recalling…” Aside from that I want to know why the sea’s rougher each time.

    • I’ve been singing all day! Thanks for the good advice, I see what you mean. In my imagination the sea get’s rougher each time because Atlantis is gradually rising, being born again….

  4. I had to laugh at the last sentence because it, and the song that goes with it, has popped into my head during some of these readings and I also heard it recently on a “Best Songs of 19__”, (don’t want to give away too much information here. 🙂

    • Yes, I think a few of us had mythology on the mind. I know the song well and was around when it debuted but I’m not giving anything away either, LOL!

  5. I like your story, as always. It reminds me of the song we knew and loved when teenagers, “The age and dawn of Aquarius.” Remember that one? I loved the song. It had a kind of awakening to a new age theme about it. It is interesting to read all the different ways in which so many writers come up with different ideas, creative thoughts and characters with each photo prompt.

    • Thank you Joyce! I am always amazed at the imagination and different takes everyone has each week to the prompts. I do remember that song, been humming it for 2 or 3 days now, LOL!

  6. Your mind went to Atlantis; mine went to similar mysterious happenings in the Bermuda Triangle. I know exactly when the song “Age of Aquarius” was born and from which Broadway show. I’m 29 on the list.

    • Thanks Lora for coming by flyoverhere! I remember too!

  7. John Hardy Bell

    Seems to me that the captain is on the cusp of discovering something. I’d sure like to find out what (that’s code for ‘I hope there’s a longer story here’).

    First story of yours that I’ve read, and I really enjoyed it!

    • Thanks John for the flyby! If hadn’t really thought about a longer story but who knows? I just read yours and enjoyed it very much!

  8. FOH,

    Very cool. Loved your take on it.

    • Thanks pepp, nothing too deep going on in my shallow minds these days…

  9. What a fun journey! You took me back in time, yet made it relevant in this time. Well done!

    • Thank you for reading! Glad you liked it!

Your thoughts?

