flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

when hope is illusive….


I don’t know about everyone else but there are times when I find it hard to remain optimistic.  I am normally very much a glass half full kind of gal but when I listen to the ‘news’ I find it hard to keep my focus on things I can actually do something about and find myself in full-time ‘worry mode’ over the track our country is on.

There is so much division by class, gender, race, etc., that it is hard to see a good outcome.  When you add in the tensions in the Middle East, the economic turmoil in Europe and here at home too, it becomes mind-boggling.  To top it all off we find out that government agencies are wasting money right and left on frivolous trips and meetings at taxpayer expense with total disregard for ‘we the people’.  There is certainly more, I could go on listing all disturbing stuff government is doing but what good does it do?  Everyday, every hour there are new stories of corruption at the highest levels of power.

Bottom line for me is that I have only one life to live on earth and I don’t want to waste it worrying about stuff that I have no control over.  To take care of my family, to help out in any situation that may arise, to leave my tiny little corner of the planet a better, a more beautiful and peaceful place would be wonderful.  That is a bit of a ‘Mary Poppins’ idea I know because in these times you never know what you may say or do that offends someone, even when your motives are pure and well-intentioned.

I continue to pray for our country and for a return to morality, honesty, and pride in this land that has given freedom and opportunity to more people than any nation in history.  This should apply doubly to politicians and to government overall!  People need to realize that unless government turns us all into robots or zombies there will never be equal outcomes for everyone.  It’s the opportunity to achieve one’s dreams through determination and effort no matter who you are, that is rare in most of the world, but not here, at least for now….

10 Comments

  1. FOH,

    Don’t have anything to add. Our world is in a mess and there is only so much we can do about it. So, allowing oneself to just coast along and try to grab happiness from the jaws of sorrow may be the only way to go.

    • That is what we are attempting to do. Hope all is going well with you and hawk….

  2. I agree, live within your means and let your life be an example. That is all we can do. But still there is beauty all about us, we can savor that as well.

    • There is so much beauty around us is so true Bill! Thanks for your comments!

  3. No doubt, my friend. I find myself tested at every turn by the downward spiral this country is on, and all I can do is pray, and keep going upward against the tide, making sure to teach my little ones the same 🙂

    • Prayer and swimming upstream is the only option and teach our children is most important if they are to have a chance at what we have had!

  4. thedrpete

    Feed the birds. Just not the raccoons.

    • long time, no see dr pete! not sure what you mean but I never feed raccoons!

      • thedrpete

        The birds was reference to Mary Poppins. I have to work at keeping the coons from my birdfeeders at night.

      • Ah, I see. Thankfully the coons don’t venture inside our yard, too many dogs I guess. They are here, we see footprints at the pond a lot.

Your thoughts?

