flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

a reasonable conversation…..


Here we are again, time for some inspirational fiction from Madison Woods over at Photo Prompt for the #FridayFictioneers.  She gives us a pic, then we get to write whatever it congers up in our imaginations!  You can join the fun as well!  The photo is the property of Madison Woods, check out the terms for use at Madison Woods.

That ol’ buzzard

just a sittin’ in that ol’ tree,

looking so hungry,

I think he’s a eyein’ me!

I ain’t dead yet,

ya ol’ bird!

Fly away now,

Go on ya hear!

There ain’t nuthin’

for ya near!

 Saw that ol’ coyote,

a while ago.

Got him a rabbit,

just a comin’ up

outta his hole.

Go on now,

find that ol’ cuss

I know ya kin do it,

go make a big ol’ fuss!

Yore big en scary,

he’ll run away.

Hurry now,

don’t tarry!

This is yore lucky day!

Shore glad I weren’t

a takin’ no nap,

That ol’ bird

woulda been a

sittin’ on my lap.

As always let me know what you think!

57 Comments

  1. keep moving so he won’t get ya! — enjoyed it

  2. Steven S. Walsky

    Enjoyable read.

  3. This made me laugh, too. Enjoyed it greatly.

    • Glad it gave you a chuckle. Thanks for reading!

  4. Note to self: do not sleep in the general vicinity of buzzards.

    Loved the dialect here.

    • Thanks Adam! Glad you got some useful info 😉

  5. This made me smile…must be the dialect you used. Very nice, mine is here
    http://boomiebol.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/the-new-character-friday-fictioneers-713/

    • I am glad you liked it, thanks for reading! I just read both of yours and enjoyed them both. I think the story was my favorite.

  6. TheOthers1

    Picking at your innards while you sleep for sure!! Nice work.

    • Thanks for the read! I had a couple more lines to that effect but it was already over 100. Glad you got the moral of the story…. 😉

  7. Enjoyed this, Your poem read and flowed easy like buttermilk…loved the dialect. I’m #14 on the list.

    • Thank for reading Lora and for the nice critique! I think I must be an ‘old codger’ at heart. 😉

  8. Robert Gregory

    Haha! Nice!

  9. what a fun poem. The dialect definitely adds a flavor to the tale

    • Thanks for reading, glad you liked it!

  10. FOH: That was really good. Kinda fit my mood too.

    • HaHa bullright, I think it fit mine as well…

  11. rochellewisoff
  12. Fun and playful. Thanks!

    • Thanks, so glad you like it. I really enjoyed yours as well!

    • Glad you enjoyed it. Yours made me smile too. Thanks for coming by!

  13. I can see the image of an aged old cow poke slumbering around lazy like, chewing on a wad of tobacco and ‘shootin the breeze while trying to strike up a conversation with the ole buzzard. Ha. Ha.

    • Yep, that is where I was coming from. Thanks!

  14. Funny! I needed a laugh today. Thank you. Mine’s on the list.

    • I’m glad it gave you a chuckle! Thanks and I missed you last week, feel better!

      • Did you? It is nice to be missed. I looked at the photo and nothing happened. My mind was too occupied elsewhere. I thought that it might happen again this week but I managed something. I’ll dig myself out of my hole. I always do! Thank you for your kind words.

      • You are very welcome Lady Marilyn!

  15. Fabulous. Just as I like my poetry. A bit of a giggle.

    • Thank you linty, glad you got a giggle!

  16. I enjoyed this, and laughed out loud at the final line! Well done.

    Thanks for commenting on ours: http://www.lazuli-portals.com/flash-fiction/tideline-transition

    • Good deal, glad you had a laugh! Thanks for reading!

  17. This is so much fun, that was a refreshing and light hearted read, great interpretation, very inspirational. Bonne continuation.

    http://wp.me/s1nUrn-buzzard

    • Thank you Claire for the encouraging words! I enjoyed yours too.

  18. Enjoyed this tremendously. Thanks for coming over. Mine is here for others: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/fridayfictioneers-spectators/

  19. This reminds me of the really old folk songs. Fun poem. Great job!
    http://whimsicalquestsofacuriousmind.blogspot.com/2012/07/friday-fictioneers-71312-round-2.html

    • Thanks, glad you liked it! I really enjoyed yours too!

  20. Delightfully done! Ambles along like a cowpoke under his Stetson, heading home after a big round up. Great feel to this poem.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/roadkill/

    • Thank you Doug! This ol’ cowpoke is kinda ornery!

  21. Nice job! Really enjoyed that.

  22. Hmnn…While the buzzard sat in his tree and the poet contemplated, I saved the universe from awful death, reasoned to a solution to the problem of human nature, found the Higgs Boson, accounted for dark matter and awakened with nothing to show for it…

    • Hmnnn….okie dokie! Thanks for stopping in!

  23. lol love the rhythm in this, how it just flows along

  24. You do have a way with words, in every idiom 😉

    I think you should consider publishing them, too!!

    • Thanks Y! I am trying to figure out how exactly to go about it.

  25. j8hprobvulquetio1974

    Reblogged this on Sharon Assist Diary.

Your thoughts?

