flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

ordinary days….


This certainly is not an ordinary day.  Mom’s funeral is today.  Sitting here in the early morning before sunrise, I am at a loss for a way to describe my emotions.  I was unable to find her wedding rings and I really wanted her to have them.  Since we live a good distance from town, I have been going in to Mom’s house each day so that friends and family would have a more central location to visit us.  They have been bringing us a lot of food, flowers and love.  Yesterday as I was leaving Mom’s house something told me to go into her room and get the necklace my Dad had given her when they were dating and take it to her.  While I was in her room I looked at her cedar chest at the foot of the bed and remembered the wedding corsage.  It is the corsage she wore when she married my Dad and has been in that cedar chest for 63 years, encased in the clear plastic floral box it was delivered to her in the day of her wedding.  As a child I loved it when Mom would open the chest.  The corsage was always there, four red roses tied with gold metallic ribbon, along with some of my baby blankets, shoes and little dresses.  I tried and tried to open the chest but the combination lock wasn’t cooperating.  As it was getting late, I left and stopped at the funeral home on the way home.  I slipped quietly into the viewing room, the flowers fill the air with a sweet fragrance and slipping the necklace under her left hand, a tiny picture of my Dad in the locket.

When I got home I realized that I had left the food I planned to bring home for our supper sitting on the counter in Mom’s kitchen.  My sweet husband said that he would  go back and get it.  I had also told him about trying to retrieve the corsage.  When he returned home he had the corsage and this morning I will pin it to her dress once again.  It’s condition is amazing for 63 years.  The roses are still red and the ribbon still glistens.  She has kept it so carefully, it should remain with her always………

and ordinary days will return for a while…..

11 Comments

  1. FOH,

    All I can think to say is what a beautiful story about the corsage. What you write here reminds me so much of the time when my Mom died and experiencing the same things as you are now.
    God bless you and keep you strong.

  2. cathi

    Thank you for sharing this….I am overwhelmed. How dear and precious that she saved it all these years. You write from the heart and that means so much…I know she and LD are together again in a place called Paradise.

  3. Cromwellsheart

    My thoughts and prayers are with you Lura. When I buried my mama in January I felt these very things.

    God be with you and stay strong.

    John

  4. I know these days of raw feelings and emotion. They are debilitating so say the least. I’m praying the Lord will give you much comfort and strength.

    I loved the story about the corsage. I’m so glad you did that. I know that she was smiling down on you.

    A few years before my mom left this earth for her final voyage, we got her a beautiful Malachite watch for Christmas. She loved it an wore it everywhere. It looked very handsome on her thin wrist and she used to get lots of positive comments where ever she went. One of her great joys in life was hunting and collecting beautiful rocks, from the pastures in west Texas. She would cut, polish and make wonderful pieces of jewelry from them so this watch had special meaning to her.

    About a year, before she passed, she lost the watch. We searched high and low many times, in the house and yard and car, but to no avail. The watch was gone forever, or so we thought. She grieved over her beautiful watch and we all promised to get her another one as soon as we could find one. But we never did and time ran out on us.

    A day or so after she left us, we were all sitting in her house, just reminiscing about her life. My brother began to stretch his arms up in the air and he put one arm up underneath the lamp shade, on the table by his chair, to turn on the lamp, and low and behold, there was her watch, hanging on the lamp’s turn-on switch. We all gasp and were amazed that it had been hiding in plain sight all this time.

    We quickly drove to the funeral home and placed it on her wrist. It looked beautiful and she looked beautiful with her prized watch finally back on her arm. I felt like she was smiling down on us at that moment. It meant a lot to us to do that and I know it meant a lot to you to place the corsage on your mom.

    May the Lord richly bless and keep you. Please let me know if there is anything that I can do for you during this time. All my love to you and your family.

    Linda

    • What a sweet story Linda, thank you for sharing. We want so badly to honor and do just one more little thing for those we love even though we are the ones who benefit from our actions though the peace it brings us. All my love to you and your family too!

  5. Thanks to all for the words of comfort and kindness. I cannot express with mere words what your support means to me. I value highly the new friendships and camaraderie I have found here in the blogasphere!

  6. My prayers of love and support for you and your family go on angel’s wings.

    Thank you for the beautiful story.

  7. Running errands, forgetting things, digging for something you can’t find…those are ordinary life frustrations. But when you added in your mom, seems to me, they totaled up to a beautiful day nevertheless…

  8. A beautiful story and tribute to your mom. I am so sorry to hear she passed. My heart goes out to you and your family. HUGS!

Your thoughts?

