flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

176 years…..


ago today Texas declared its independence from Mexico and became the Republic of Texas.  We were a sovereign nation before joining the Union by treaty which is why the Texas flag flies at the same height as Old Glory.  We have a rich history of brave men and women whose fortitude, independence and maybe just downright stubbornness have given us our reputation of pride and a love for our state that runs deep in our hearts.

From the Great Plains to the Gulf Coast, the Big Bend to the Piney Woods we are a state of diverse climates and culture.  I am a Texan born and bred!  If I could live anywhere in the world, I still would choose Texas.  Give me land, lots of land with starry skies above.  Don’t fence me in!

This one is a rerun but one of my favorites about my favorite part of Texas….my home.

http://player.vimeo.com/video/22132017?title=0&byline=0&portrait=0

10 Comments

  1. thedrpete

    Happy birthday to the Lone Star.

  2. cromwellshead

    God bless you. To love a land, its people and its history is a grand thing. That sense of belonging, that sense that things are right. Pride is not old fashioned, it is an honourable and worthy.

    • Without pride there can be no excellence, no purpose and no reason to improve…..

  3. DrPete and cromwellshead said it perfectly. It is refreshing to hear someone speak of their home State in this manner, FOH.

    • I can’t help it Mrs. AL, I love this place!

  4. I wasn’t born in Texas, but I got here as fast as I could!!

    I have lived in many places, and none come close to having the sense of unity and pride that Texas and its people do.

    I ♥ TEXAS!!

    • DH says the same thing. He was born in CA but family moved back to Texas when he was 6mos old…..;-) I would say that you have that Texan attitude!

  5. gideon
  6. Reblogged this on theconservativehillbilly.

Your thoughts?

