flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

I am Thursday’s child


Ever wonder what day of the week you were born on?  Go to http://www.mathsisfun.com/games/dayofweek.html

Monday’s child is fair of face,
Tuesday’s child is full of grace,
Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
Thursday’s child has far to go.
Friday’s child is loving and giving,
Saturday’s child works hard for a living,
But the child born on the Sabbath Day,
Is fair and wise and good in every way.
Ok, I am being goofy today because, well because I don’t seem to be able to focus on anything of substance and I am going to the dentist today because I have a broken tooth (drill baby drill)…my DH and DD and DGD, are taking care of my duties today with my Mom.  A day with something different and sometimes different is a good thing…..
Grace and Peace to find joy in every day!
8 Comments

  1. It tells me I’m Tuesday’s Child, but I’m a klutz 😉

  2. I was born on Sunday and I can only wish that I were fair wise and good in every way. 🙂

    • Hi Linda! Just figured out who you are, Welcome!

  3. FOH,

    I was born on a Saturday and my part fits me like a glove. Work has been my whole life even as a small child. My Mom had me drying dishes by the time I was 3 yrs old and cooking dinner by the time I was 10 yrs old. I had chores mapped out for each day of the week I had to do. Monday was wash day. Tues. was ironing day. Wed. was clean the house day and change all the sheets. Thurs was wash day again. Friday was ironing again and Sat was clean the whole house again day and change the sheets. And I am talking major house cleaning. My mother was a clean freak.

    Thank God my Mother was a devout Catholic so we did not have to do any chores on Sunday. That was God’s day of rest. We went to church then my brother and I had a free day.

    But, I’ll tell you the way my Mom was she was extremely particular in how things were done and they had to be done with perfection. So if I didn’t do something she thought was not perfect I got beat over it. And the Lord only knows I tried so hard as a child to meet her standards.

    It was pretty tough really because all these chores had to be done after I came home from school and my homework came after I did my chores. That meant that I spent many a late night getting all my homework done. Being in a Catholic school we had homework on every subject every night.

    Then when I was old enough to get a part time job, I still had all these chores and tons of homework being in a Catholic high school. So, that made things even more difficult and I would be up until 2am trying to get all my homework done. Then get back up at 6am to get to school on time.

    And things never stopped from there on work. So, I guess the positive thing it did for me is teach me a good work ethic and I became a perfectionist on my jobs also. I guess we need to look for the silver lining in all that gets lumped onto us in our lifetimes.

    Grace and Peace to you too!

  4. FH,

    Not sure how scientific this is, because I was born on a Sunday. I think I’ve lowered the standard…

  5. thedrpete

    Sunday. My mom missed church that day.

  6. Thanks for posting! Love this.

Your thoughts?

