flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

2011 going, going….


On this last day of 2011 I find that the anticipation of a new year is more daunting than exciting.  I normally feel an exhilaration for new beginnings but this whole year has been weird.  My anticipation and excitement has turned to uneasiness.

I am what I call an optimistic worry wart, oxymoron????  No really, I always believe that things will turn out for the better if only I keep my hands on the wheel….all the time.   I always have this nagging little voice in my head telling me that it is better to have my DF (Dear Family) annoyed with me than not giving them advise on all things and later being sorry that I didn’t say something.  I love being a ‘fixer’ and when I can’t fix everything, well…..I can get even more annoying!

I really need new glasses, something I have been putting off for a very long time.  I think I will check out some that are rose-colored.  You know, I am really doing a horrible job of relating the reasons I feel so unsettled and uneasy and I am sure anyone reading this is wondering why I think they should be interested anyway.   I know that you can’t feel my headache and I can’t feel yours, so who is to say who has the worst headache!

So I am going to go find my happy face and leave you with this,

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind always be at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

Grace and Peace for me and you in 2012!

9 Comments

  1. FOH,

    This morning while having our coffee the Hawk and I looked at one another while talking about “hey it’s new year’s eve”. The Hawk said all it means to me is getting one year older. You can see how excited we are over tonight.

    • we will be in bed by 9 most likely…..

    • willibeaux

      I feel the same way Mrs. Pepper’awk.

  2. And a HAPPY NEW YEAR to you and everyone who comes by, foh! Really really enjoyed the McGuire Sisters’ number. Thanx for the memories!

    • and a BIG Happy New Year to you too!

  3. thedrpete

    The calendar flipping from one year to the next has never been of a nanowit of interest to me. Much ado about nothing. Ditto for birthdays. Christmas and Easter have meaning for me, as do Thanksgiving and Independence Day. Veteran’s Day and Flag Day cause me to reflect.

    thedrpete will go dark somewhere between 9-10 p.m. EST. Just finished this late-afternoon replacing my three roofs (or is it rooves?) from a big storm last April. That’s cause for tipping a couple.

    • Happy New Rooves! Lights out around here at about 9!

  4. FOH,

    I’ve just happen to have my 20 year old son with me this weekend, so I reckon I’ll have to get some tooth picks to keep my eyes open till Midnight! Besides that…to say to a new year…whoop-te-do! All it means to me is at least 11 more months of enduring our administration before I know if I have to endure him for another four years; not a lot to celebrate there for me.

    PS. I’ve also been considering rose colored glasses to somewhat match the color of my neck! LOL

    • Happy New Year! It’s always good to color coordinate whenever possible!

Your thoughts?

