flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

no resolutions for me….


I don’t make New Year’s resolutions because as I have said before, I fly by the seat of my pants.  This may seem irresponsible but from my perspective in makes sense.  We never know what lies ahead, we can look back for perspective and see how it relates to the present but the future is up for grabs.

That doesn’t mean we shouldn’t do common sense things like preparing for emergencies, save for rainy days or just tell the people who matter in your life how much you love them.  No one is guaranteed tomorrow.  There is no absolute security this side of heaven no matter how much we seek it.  We are mortal beings with immortal souls, we begin to die the day we are born.  Our life span is but a vapor, here today and gone tomorrow.  The best that I hope for is to live well, laugh a lot and love with passion and compassion based on God‘s Holy Word so that my eternal soul will rest in peace at last.  I try to do all that and at the same time, do no harm.

I have made resolutions in the past because that is what ‘everyone else’ does….how’s that for a reason to do anything?  I once resolved to lose weight and stick to a diet and exercise routine, then there was quitting smoking, getting organized, redoing the kitchen cabinets, make my yard into a beautiful green paradise,  build my dream house, grow a bountiful garden and preserve the harvest for winter eating, drink 8 glasses of water every day and on and on and on…..

I did lose weight, not because I stuck to a diet and exercise routine though.  It happened when I stopped thinking about what my next meal was going to be.   I still smoke mainly because even when sitting still I have to be doing something, that and I believe there is a conspiracy to control every aspect of my personal life and I refuse to allow that (my Achilles heel is a stubborn streak a mile wide).  Silly maybe, but oh well….call me a rebel, LOL!  All the rest of it is still on the agenda when the time is right and if the opportunity presents itself.  I like to be free to do the things my family needs me to do and not be tied to some specific self-imposed time line to accomplish something that means nothing in the long run.

My legacy won’t be painting some great masterpiece or writing the ever elusive great American novel or composing an unforgettable song.  My best hope of any lasting effect of my existence lies in my family and whether or not I can convey any wisdom or any tenant for living, laughing and loving that will be of value to them as they live their life journey.

I guess IF I were to make a resolution it would be to lighten up, never sweat the small stuff and free my mind to seize the day!

Grace and Peace to all!  May the new year bring you success in your endeavors, joy that overcomes sadness and love that fills your life!

6 Comments

  1. Fascinating take on the issue of new year’s resolutions. Great read here. I am more prone to write down yearly goals than I am to make resolutions, though they may be one in the same. For some reason, writing something down helps me stay focused.

    May your 2012 begin with peace and joy in your heart and the hearts of your family no matter the circumstance, foh.

  2. I don’t make resolutions for New Year’s. It’s always seemed kind of dumb for me. Perhaps not to others. Maybe it does something for someone else. But for me, I take things one day at a time and I can no longer look any further than that to be honest.

  3. I never made any. Didn’t see the point of it. Better to live each day fully and thankful for everything 🙂

  4. FOH,

    Great post! I don’t make New Year’s resolutions anymore. Why? Cause I never stuck to a single one that I made. My thought process turned into, if this is so important to me; why in the world did I wait a whole year and now decide I need to change something. That’s just no my style in about everything I do, but for some reason that light bulb went out over top of my head come the new year. Everything I have ever accomplished in my life are things I wanted to change and did so immediately; not put it on the back burner for next year. I’m improved my life a lot by changing things on the spot, but these cigs…reckon they’re still going to be around for while….

  5. Thanks for the kudos Y! Happy New Year!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. New Year, Better Me « Sithy Things

Your thoughts?

