flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

my Christmas wish…


This has been a strange year.  As I look back there has been so much drama both in our personal lives and on the national and world scenes.  Record drought, record storms, record flooding, the OWS protests and riots, total government dysfunction, and financial uncertainty here at home.  Then there is the Arab Spring,  the toppling of dictators, killing Bin Laden, the death of Communist Dictator Kim Jong IlUS withdrawal from Iraq just to name a few.  Thinking about all these things can become overwhelming when you consider that there isn’t much anyone one person can do about it.

There is much hope that the 2012 election will change the national nightmare.  Let’s face it conservatives aren’t very good at community organizing.  It isn’t in our nature to meddle in other people’s business.  We assume that everyone values their personal space as much as we do.  We assume that everyone who sees the stars believes that they can reach for them.

I am not rich, not because someone victimized me.  My dream life might be considered a nightmare to those more driven to obtain earthly treasure, but that is OK with me.  ‘Each to their own’, is how I look at that.  As I enter the last season of my earthly sojourn and look back, there are things that I could have done better but all in all I am satisfied with the path I chose.  Blessings abound everywhere as I look around me and see my family and my home.  Maybe if I had been willing to devote more of my time and energy to ‘making money’, I would be in a better position to ‘protect’ the people I love from what I fear is coming from a too powerful and corrupt government but I can’t really answer that question.  No sense in going there at this point.

I am thankful that I grew up in a country that made a ‘big deal’ of this season that is about peace and joy.   The cultural tradition of Christmas in America isn’t about celebrating an ancient pagan ritual, nor is it the exact birthday of our Savior but it brings hearts and minds back to the basic reward that giving brings.  It causes much good to be done on behalf of the poorest among us, it makes us stop, if only for a moment, and concentrate on others more than self.  Sure, it is commercialized but that also causes many good things to happen for the good of everyone because when business does well and closes the year in the black, the economy grows and we all benefit from the results.

My Christmas wish is for my family and you to know the peace and contentment of living each day as it comes, making the most of the good in life and preparing for life eternal.

13 Comments

  1. thedrpete

    My nephew, David, and his Sara, who just beat back breast cancer have a daughter, Bridget, who suffers from the very-rare Batten’s disease. Now six, it appears almost-certain that this will be her final Christmas. All of my giving this season is for Dave and Sara at http://www.hope4bridget.com/donate.

    What Dave and Sara have endured in recent years has not developed their character, but rather revealed it.

    Merry Christmas to all.

    • God Bless you and your family dr pete, my heart and my prayers go out to all of you. The joy of the season sometimes is bitter sweet….words fail me.

    • drpete,

      My heart goes out to you and your loved ones over their impending loss. How very sad.

  2. Linda

    Beautiful, love Amy Grant. Thanks for your posts. One day Jesus will reconcile everything and He will make all things right again. And the things of this world will pass away. Until then, I will hang on to Him. He is my strength and my hope.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family. May your Christmas wish come true.

    Linda

    • I do the same! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  3. FOH

    As usual you write a beautiful and poignant article on life in general. I still have faith in God that He will help us turn things around in this country of ours. I could be off the mark, but I have to have something to cling to during these desperate times.

    i once made a lot of money and could buy everyone I loved whatever I wanted. Circumstances out of my control took all that from me. Now, it is only my love and caring and support to those who need it that I can give and I try to do that each day as I have many friends suffering with one thing or another.

    So gifts don’t have to be material. They can be other intangible things we give to one another.

    God bless you and may your family have a joyous and peaceful Christmas.

    • Merry Christmas to you and to all you love!

  4. Merry Christmas to y’all, and may the Good Lord watch over you and keep you!!

    • May all your Christmas wishes come true!

  5. willibeaux

    Beautiful Lura! Thank you!

  6. Apollyon67

    Your words never cease to amaze me. You are a truly gifted woman and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for your time in putting posts up that are so sincere.
    Peace, Joy, and Happiness to you and to all those you love.

    • I am humbled by your sweet words of appreciation. Thank you for reading. I must admit that writing is like a therapy for my own personal benefit but when others find a benefit it is doubly rewarding. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

Your thoughts?

