flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

Facing facts today….


My posts will probably be less often for a while.  Today I take my Mom to the cancer center to learn the results of the PET scan.  The doctors will make their recommendations based on what they found. I am both scared and anxious to know what we are facing so that the process can start.

Yesterday was a day off from everything.  We got up yesterday morning to a rain/snow mix.  He couldn’t be in the field harvesting and I didn’t have to go anywhere.  We spent the day together, had a big breakfast which he cooked.  We napped, watched a movie, then fixed a good supper and watched the World Series.  We aren’t big sports fans but since the Texas Rangers are in it we felt that Texan desire to support and be proud of all things TEXAS!

I had to retire before the game ended.  The score when I went to bed was 6 to 4 Rangers, I thought surely they would win it all last night.  Then I found out from looking at Facebook this morning that we are going to game 7.

Now I am just drinking my ‘pot’ of coffee and preparing my mind for the day ahead.

Grace and Peace to all for a blessed and good day!

10 Comments

  1. thedrpete

    My suggestion for the day, FOH, first noting that it has been well-established that I am both an order of fries AND a Coke short of a Happy Meal. As you are faced with any new information, focus as well on something for which you are grateful. Also, take control and charge of it. Smile, sing, hum, do a dance step, initiate a high-five. Crazy? Sure, but that’s what may be called for and most helpful.

    • Thanks dr pete for those encouraging words. There are plenty of things in my life to be grateful for, even this day that I have been granted. The doctors’ jobs are to kill the cancer, my job is to make sure they don’t also kill the spirit, the joy and the quality of life. My Mom is more than just a cancer patient……

  2. Praying continues, FOH. Please know we are thinking of you and your Mother. It was good to hear that you had yesterday to relax from your normal routine. Funny how that works, isn’t it? And may I compliment you and DrPete for your exchange.

    • yesterday was indeed wonderful and a much needed mini-vacation! Thanks for your thoughts and prayers!

  3. FOH,

    Yesterday you did what was best for yourself and your mate. A good day of relaxation and peace to face this day.

    Your Mother is indeed more than a “cancer patient”. That is a good thing to keep in mind as you face the treatment and prognosis for your Mom. She is the focus today. Stay focused on her and the treatment plan, know you are doing the best you can, and I will be saying my prayers for you and your Mother.

    Stay strong, FOH, God is with you. That does not mean this is easy. It just means He is there to guide you and comfort you.

    I am here too for you and do not hesitate to let me know what you need so I can support you through this.

    May you be in the heart of God today.

    • Thanks again pepper, appreciate your kindness very much!

  4. Apollyon67

    Our Prayers are with you and your family, my friend.

    • Thank you my friend! Friends are such wonderful assets to have!!!

  5. willibeaux

    FW! Just prayed for your mom and you family. May God grant her mercy and favor.

Your thoughts?

