flyoverhere

whatever is on my mind….

Windmills Of My Mind….


My last post brings me to today’s.   A friend of mine passed away this week.  She was a year younger than me and as I read her obituary it got me to thinking…..

Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways – Chardonnay, make that a Coors light, in one hand – chocolate, make that a Marlboro, in the other – body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming “WOO-HOO, what a ride!!”

My point being that all that you do, do with gusto.  Flying by the seat of my pants is something that I have always excelled at and I think if you are good at something then that is the something you should be doing.  Don’t get me wrong, I do make plans but invariably there are detours and I love taking the scenic route!

Reaching the Senior citizen stage of life is proving to be an adventure for sure.  My biggest pet peeve at this stage is with the medical profession.  Every time I do have occasion to see the doctor it always winds up being a very stressful encounter.  I go in with the sniffles and come out with a sore spot from the injection, 3 new prescriptions and orders to have a Colonoscopy, MRI, Stress test, Mammogram, etc., etc., etc…..can’t do anything about the sore spot, get only one of the prescriptions filled and ignore the orders.  I don’t look for trouble and don’t deal with it until it becomes necessary.  The doctor seems to think that I want to live forever in a state of anticipation of the next possible medical calamity.  I just want to live today as stress free as possible and not spend money I don’t have on tests and procedures that will just lead to more tests and procedures that may or may not indicate some problem that I may or may not be able to do anything about.

Once the medical profession get their hooks in you they never let go.  I speak from experience as a breast cancer survivor.  It was caught early, surgically removed and treated with radiation therapy,  no chemo was necessary and I was given a 96% chance of never having it again.  Yet, they won’t formally release me and insist on scaring the daylights out of me at least twice a year with more tests and procedures.   After 8 years I finally just told them, ‘don’t call me….I will call you if necessary’.

Someday I might tell the long saga of my husband’s light heart attack and the experience of  getting fired by his cardiologist after 12 years of taking medications that may have been good for his heart but were literally destroying his knee and hip joints making it almost impossible to walk for necessity, much less for exercise, plus some other not so pleasant side effects.

I guess if I believed that this life is all there is I might not be so ambivalent toward doctors but since this world is not my home and I am just passing though my association with medical types will continue to be only on an as needed basis.

Grace, Peace and Good Health to all….

13 Comments

  1. Live like you’re dying, and you’ll have no regrets.

    It’s funny, but Hubby feels the same way that you do about doctors. He can’t stand that whole “we need to run some tests” stuff.

  2. A thoughtful and poignant post. foh! Thanx for sharing. As for Cards, my husband person has fired more than one of them in his lifetime. He’s had the “widow maker” twice (considered very young for having these HAs). The meds have made his life miserable as well. He is still battling the SEs and he’s only 51 years old.

    Appreciate the opportunity to say the above. Quite a service you have offered here. Will keep you in my prayers as well, foh. You are a brave woman.

    • Thanks mrs al, about the time I think that what I posted must have been utter nonsense, you have such welcome words! You made my day, thanks for the prayers and I will send them up for yall too!

  3. I go back to my mother’s words after she retired, ” Where are the “”Golden Years””?
    There are none.
    And seeing doctors will become a think of the past for seniors so no need to have the “need only to see only” motto. You won’t have a choice. There will be no doctors to see.

    • I meant a “thing” of the past. Seems I can’t spell anymore either.

    • you are right pepperhawk! Read a few days ago that within the bowels of Obamacare is a little nugget about old people. After age 76 we won’t qualify for cancer treatment and after age 65 we will be required to attend end of life counseling every 5 years.

  4. willibeaux

    FW! A simple question! Were the medications Statin drugs that caused the damage to your husband’s joints?

    • Yes willibeaux they certainly were. His cardiologist denied that they were causing his pain and muscle deterioration as well as joint damage. Right after his heart attack he could walk several miles at a brisk pace, within 2 years he could barely move.

  5. willibeaux

    My cardiologist wanted me to take the Statins. I said no way Jose. I have friends who had similar problems as your husband while on Statins. They stopped before they passed the point of no return.

    My wife and I take 600mg of Red Yeast Rice which has some natural Statin.

    I can’t prove it but I think some of the medical profession are on the hook with the drug companies.

    • I KNOW they are. My husband witnessed a drug rep passing a plain brown envelope to his doctor one day. Doctor just put it in the pocket of his lab coat without even looking at it. I think the whole medical profession as well as the Feds are in bed with big pharma at the expense of our physical health as well as the health of our pocket books!!!!!

  6. thedrpete

    I think — I don’t bother “feeling” — that I am awfully-fortunate. I am the ceo of me. I have an internist who is my chief medical officer, so provides “completed-staff-work” counsel. I have some physical issues to deal with and struggle with, but I try to stay as healthy and positive and constructive as I can. I get mad at some little things I shouldn’t, but manage the big things pretty well.

    Overall, I am “well”.

  7. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is great blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

Your thoughts?

